A series of events by and with ZONKEY (Angela Melitopoulos and Kerstin Schroedinger)
in the yurt on the Toten Mann in Alberndorf in the Pulkautal.

With Omnia Sabry (artist, Kairo), Renate Ganser (herbalist, Wien), Barbara Glowczewski (anthropologist, Paris)

The starting point are the musical experiments of the music project ‘Learning to Speak with Earth’ by the group ZONKEY (Kerstin Schroedinger and Angela Melitopoulos), which began in March 2020.

The events are part of a long-term study on interspecies communication that uses sound and field recordings. Research is carried out with electroacoustic experiments and voices in order to be able to understand the connections with the earth, with its layers, living beings and movements on the surface, as history. The aim is to experience the process of communication and listening as a process of transformation in the narrative.
For each event an expert / storyteller is invited to the narrative space of the yurt, with a focus on storytelling.

with a focus on storytelling. In the vicinity of the yurt, the transmission of the sound field is also relevant, since the sound and listening create the possibility of making connections between human and non-human actors in the environment comprehensible. With narrative chains, connective impulses, with extensive narrative loops, with the handing down of specific knowledge, but also through sound generation, resonance fields, feedback loops and birdsong, we establish communication with the environment on the level of new listening. Depending on the context that the guests bring with them, the yurt can also operate as a room for screenings, as an exhibition space and as a listening room.
4 events will take place between August 23 and September 5, 2021. They are then put online and archived as part of the Zonkey Archive. If possible, musical interventions with ZONKEY take place in all events. The LP “Surfacing Earth” is also presented.

Episode 1: The indigenization of anthropology:conversation with the French anthropologist Barbara Glowczewski about the land struggles of the Aboriginal Australians, their artistic and legal strategies and how their cosmology has changed the scientific subject-object order.

Episode 2: Narration and screening about the audio-visual research Matri Linear B in Lower Austria, Alberndorf, Untermarkersdorf and Hadres and about the research trip to the Northern Territories in Australia by Angela Melitopoulos Vimeolink and project description: https: // vimeo.com/502516362/0cc77ac9c9

Episode 3: “Heretic Gazing” walk through the land at the Toten Mannherb collection and conversation with Renate Ganser, Vienna, about resilient knowledge, about herbs and the self-healing powers of the land.

Episode 4: August 29, 2021: 5 pm: “Phytography or Plants as Screens”conversation with the Egyptian artist Omnia Sabry. Sabry talks about her experimental photography project in which she uses plant leaves and flowers as photographic carriers. Ephemeral, fragile images emerge that re-explore the connection between nature and its representation. A selection of reproductions of the phytographs will be on display in the yurt between the events.

Veranstaltungsreihe von und mit ZONKEY (Angela Melitopoulos und Kerstin Schroedinger)
in der Jurte auf dem Toten Mann in Alberndorf im Pulkautal

Mit Omnia Sabry (Künstlerin, Kairo), Renate Ganser (Pflanzenkundige, Wien), Barbara Glowczewski (Anthropologin, Paris)

Ausgangspunkte sind die musikalischen Experimente des Musikprojektes ‘Learning to Speak with Earth’ von der Gruppe ZONKEY (Kerstin Schroedinger und Angela Melitopoulos), das im März 2020 begonnen wurde.

Die Veranstaltungen sind Teil einer Langzeitstudie über Interspezies-Kommunikation angelegt, die mit Sound und Fieldrecordings arbeitet. Hierbei wird mit elektroakustische Experimenten und Stimmen geforscht, um die Verbindungen mit der Erde, mit ihren Schichtungen, Lebewesen, und Bewegungen auf der Oberfläche, als Geschichte verstehen zu können. Ziel ist es, den Prozess der Kommunikation und des Hörens als Transformationsprozess in der Erzählung zu erfahren.
Für die einzelnen Veranstaltungen wird jeweils ein*e Expert*in/Geschichtenerzähler*in in den Erzählraum der Jurte eingeladen.

Ausschlaggebend ist die Konzentration im Erzählraum. In der Umgebung der Jurte wird zudem die Transmission des Klangfeldes relevant, da die Klang- und Hörebenen die Möglichkeiten bilden, Verbindungslinien zwischen menschlichen und nichtmenschlichen Akteur*innen in der Umwelt nachvollziehbar zu machen. Mit narrativen Verkettungen, konnektiven Impulsen, mit ausgiebigen Erzählschleifen, mit der Tradierung spezifischen Wissens, aber auch durch Klangerzeugung, Resonanzfelder, Feedbackschleifen und Vogelgezwitscher etablieren wir eine Kommunikation mit der Umwelt auf der Ebene eines neuen Zuhörens. Je nach Kontext den die Gäste mitbringen, kann die Jurte zudem als Raum für Screenings, als Ausstellungsraum und als Hörraum operieren.
Zwischen dem 23. August und dem 5. September 2021 finden 4 Veranstaltungen statt finden. Sie werden anschliessend als Teil des Zonkey Archives online gestellt und archiviert. Musikalische Interventionen mit ZONKEY finden, wenn möglich, in allen Veranstaltungen statt. Auch wird die LP “Surfacing Earth” vorgestellt.

Folge 1: Die Indigenisierung der Anthropology: Gespräch mit der französischen Anthropologin Barbara Glowczewski über die Landkämpfe der Aboriginal Australians, ihre künstlerischen und juristischen Strategien und wie ihre Kosmologie die wissenschaftlichen Subjekt-Objekt-Ordnungen verändert haben.

Folge 2: Erzählung und Screening über die audio-visuelle Forschung Matri Linear B in Niederösterreich, Alberndorf, Untermarkersdorf und Hadres und über die Forschungsreise in die Northern Territories in Australien von Angela Melitopoulos
Vimeolink und Projektbeschreibung: https://vimeo.com/502516362/0cc77ac9c9

Folge 3: “Heretic Gazing” Spaziergang durch das Land am Toten Mann, Kräutersammlung und Gespräch mit Renate Ganser, Wien, über das resiliente Wissen, über Kräuter und die Selbstheilungskräfte des Landes.

Folge 4: “Phytography or Plants as Screens”, Gespräch mit der ägyptischen Künstlerin Omnia Sabry. Sabry erzählt über ihr experimentelles Fotografieprojekt, in dem sie Pflanzenblätter und Blüten als fotografische Träger verwendet. Es entstehen ephemere, fragile Bildträger, die die Verbindung zwischen Natur und dessen Repräsentation neu ausloten. Eine Auswahl von Reproduktionen der Phytographien werden in der Jurte zwischen den Veranstaltungen ausgestellt sein.