A collateral project of the Vienna Biennale for Change 2021
Climate Care – Planet Love

In the summer, a group of artists and culture workers founded the four-hectare “Land of the Goddesses” in the Pulkau Valley. This is biodiverse land covered with vineyards, forests, overgrown scrubland, wasteland and fallow. The land will be used for THE DISSIDENT GODDESSES’ NETWORK – a research project at the Academy of Fine Arts – as a laboratory for an investigation in the sense of contemporary Eco Art and deep ecology practice.

A Mongolian yurt on a Palaeolithic site near Alberndorf, Lower Austria serves as an in-situ parliament for encounters, projects, storytelling and community teaching. The aim is to facilitate measures against climate change: targeted planting, water detection, improvement of humus. The aim is to increase and densify green matter, while at the same time diversifying the flora as much as possible and creating water areas through the wise use of underground water reserves and gentle (re)cultivation or assistance with wild growth, by the propagation of wild varieties, for example. Consulting partners include farmers, hunters, vine nursery owners, hydrologists, geologists, ecologists, philosophers, sociologists and biologists. These events interlink different plateaus of knowledge: situated knowledge becomes the concept for a node connecting knowledge related to the land through practice and observation with scientific and artistic arguments. To the extent that this interlinking takes place, the land is removed from the grasp of non-localised, centralised, purely market- and capital-oriented ‘objectified’ regulations. The land thus becomes a non-environment; it becomes a psycho-physical partner in a sympoetic matrix – a land of goddesses.

For this reason, the programme of the collateral project in the sense of a multidimensional ecology includes storytelling, art and guest meals as well as humus workshops, water searching and well drilling and lectures by experts.

WITH

SOIL AND WATER: The Elder Poem (Performancegroup Hadres), Bernhard Schmid (Schmid vine nursery) and the Hadres water group, Alberndorf hunters’ association Robert Diem and Karl Koran, permaculture farmers Heinrich Ledebur und Franz North Hadres, Roman Wittmann (postmann and geologist), Elisabeth von Samsonow (artist and activist)
Here’s the Program: SOIL AND WATER

LEARNING TO SPEAK WITH EARTH: Renate Ganser (herbalist), Omnia Sabry (artist, Kairo), Barbara Glowczewski (anthropologist, Paris), ZONKEY – Angela Melitopoulos (video artist und activist) und Kerstin Schroedinger (artist)
Here’s the Program: Learning to speak with Earth

Ein kollaterales Projekt der Vienna Biennale for Change 2021
Climate Care – Planet Love

Im Sommer gründete eine Gruppe von KünstlerInnen und Kulturschaffenden im Pulkautal das vier Hektar umfassende „Land der Göttinnen“. Es handelt sich um biodiverses Land mit Weingärten, Wäldern, verbuschter Fläche, Ödland und Brachen. Dieses Land wird für THE DISSIDENT GODDESSES‘ NETWORK – ein Forschungsprojekt an der Akademie der bildenden Künste – als Labor für eine Untersuchung im Sinne zeitgenössischer Eco Art genutzt.

Eine große mongolische Jurte auf dem Toten Mann, einer paläolithischen Stätte bei Alberndorf NÖ, dient als in-situ-Parlament für Begegnungen, Projekte, story telling und Community Teaching. Das Ziel ist die Moderation der Maßnahmen, die ergriffen werden, um dem Klimawandel gegenzusteuern: gezielte Pflanzungen, Wassersuche, Humusverbesserung. Die Vermehrung und Verdichtung von green matter wird angestrebt, bei gleichzeitiger höchstmöglicher Diversifizierung der Flora, ebenso die Schaffung von Wasserflächen durch kluge Nutzung unterirdischer Wasserreserven und die sanfte (Re)Kultivierung oder Mithilfe bei der Verwilderung, etwa durch Vermehrung von wildwachsenden Sorten. GesprächspartnerInnen sind Bauern, Jäger, Rebschulinhaber, Hydologen, Geologen, Ökologen, Philosophen, Soziologen, Biologen. Diese Ereignisse verschränken unterschiedliche Wissensplateaus: situated knowledge wird zu einem Begriff für einen Knotenpunkt, der das auf das Land durch Praxis und Beobachtung bezogene Wissen mit wissenschaftlichen und künstlerischen Argumenten verbindet. In dem Masse, in dem diese Verschränkung stattfindet, wird das Land dem Zugriff durch nicht-verortete, zentralistische, nur markt- und kapitalorientierten „objektivierten“ Regulationen entzogen. Das Land wird so zum Non-Environment, es wird zum psycho-physischen Partner in einer sympoetischen Matrix, zum Göttinnenland.

Aus diesem Grund umfasst das Programm des kollateralen Projektes im Sinne einer mehrdimensionalen Ökologie storytelling, Kunst und Gastmähler ebenso wie Humus-workshops, das Wassersuchen und Brunnenbohren und die Vorträge von Expertinnen.

MIT

Das Holundergedicht (Performancegruppe Hadres), Bernhard Schmid (Rebschule Schmid) und die Wassergruppe Hadres, Jägerschaft Alberndorf Robert Diem und Karl Koran, Permakulturbauern Heinrich Ledebur und Franz North Hadres, Renate Ganser (Kräuterspezialistin), Omnia Sabry (artist, Kairo), Barbara Glowczewski (Anthropologistin, Paris), ZONKEY mit Learning to speak with Earth – Angela Melitopoulos (Videokünstlerin und Aktivistin) und Kerstin Schroedinger (Künstlerin), Roman Wittmann (Postbote und Geologe), Elisabeth von Samsonow (Künstlerin und Aktivistin) u.a.